The IWMF’s annual Courage in Journalism Awards honor women and nonbinary journalists who set themselves apart by exhibiting extraordinary bravery, persistence and resilience. Doing whatever it takes to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress, or in the face of censorship.

The awards program honors brave journalists – including photojournalists – working in any country across the world. They report on taboo topics, immerse themselves in hostile environments and share difficult truths. In addition, the honorees demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and often overcome unjust conditions online and offline to become leaders in their industry.

Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff or freelance women or nonbinary reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country and of any nationality.


Deadline to nominate: March 3, 2024, at 11:59 pm ET.

Self-nominations are not accepted.
Haga clic aquí para enviar la nominación en español.
Cliquez ici pour envoyer une candidature en français.


If you are experiencing any accessibility/connectivity issues with the application process, please contact

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.